Introduction

Izzy Staff Photo

I grew up in the city- but the mountains certainly raised me. Driving to and fro from the concrete jungle of Calgary, AB to the frosty peaks, icy rivers and wildflower filled meadows of the Canadian Rockies weekend after weekend as a child engrained a deep appreciation for all the creature comforts that the wilderness provides.

The freedom of the hills has found me, and Revelstoke is now the place that I reside.

Creativity, strength, health, freedom and friendships have all been fostered by this existence- Which has led me to ski, climb, bike, write, travel, connect and explore far off corners of the earth.

My dedication to deepening my connection with the mountains, their culture and the people that inhabit them has led me on a path as a professional skier, marketer, event producer, writer, and adventurer.

Skiing has shaped my life in many ways. I started sliding down the gentle slope in my backyard when I was two years old.  My parents were both avid skiers and most of our family vacations were spent marching around  the backcountry at our family ski cabin Amiskwi Lodge. I spent the first nineteen years of my life travelling the world as a competitive ski racer, and after highschool I was drawn away from the gates and into the backcountry for good.

I attended the University of Calgary and received a BA in Communications and Culture in 2008. Since graduation I have worked and skied, signing with sponsors such as Arcteryx, Atomic Skis, Revelstoke Mountain Resort and Giro- filming with production companies such as  Sherpas Cinema, Unicorn Picnic, B4 Apres and Ride Guide Television.  In between ski days I like to keep myself busy. I have managed events for the likes of Revelstoke Mountain Resort, the Freeride World Tour, Sherpas Cinema and various charities. My writing has been featured in magazines such as Freeskier, Kootenay Mountain Culture and SBC Skier. Currently I am managing the marketing initiatives for Mica Heliskiing, a Revelstoke-based heliskiing operation.

In 2011, I co-founded the  Live It! Love It! Foundation in hopes of helping those with physical and mental challenges access adventure and the outdoors. One of my biggest joys is sharing my love for the mountains with others and over the past decade I have coached for the Banff Alpine Racers, Rocky Mountain Freeriders, Whistler Freeride, Girls Day Out  and CAPOW.

Life is an incredible adventure and I  am happiest when I’m moving, learning, creating, spending time  with friends and family,  and snow is falling.

Leave a Reply

