“You can’t wait for inspiration. You have to go after it with a club.” – Jack London

As usual when I embark on some sort of adventure, I return home chalk full of ambition and inspiration. Flying home from the Turks and Caicos last week I made a list of intentions for the summer. Plant a garden, bake my own bread, run and practice yoga at least three times a week, climb a 10 b, get in touch with old friends. On the top of the list- write something on my blog every day for 30 days. Writing is a craft I used to crave, but have recently struggled to get words on paper and feel satisfied with how they sound. I have hundreds of unfinished ideas and projects idling on my hard drive… and absolutely no idea where to begin.

Sooo.. I am going to compile a list of the things that inspire me in hopes of unlocking my brain and simulating some creative activity. One per day, for thirty days.

Today I will begin with Quotes.. I am always amazed at how certain peoples words live on for eternity. Our society loves to quote powerful and inspiring phrases, use them in our writings, teachings, and greeting cards and tacky garden decorations. I’m a sucker for quotes and tend to find sticky notes of random quotes I hear buried in bags and hidden in books on a regular basis. They are good reminders and can help get a point across when you can’t find the words yourself.

Here are a few quotes that I have found very powerful at various points in my life:

“I’m not telling you to make the world better, because I don’t think that progress is necessarily part of the package. I’m just telling you to live in it. Not just to endure it, not just to suffer it, not just to pass through it, but to live in it. To look at it. To try to get the picture. To live recklessly. To take chances. To make your own work and take pride in it. To seize the moment. And if you ask me why you should bother to do that, I could tell you that the grave’s a fine and private place, but none I think do there embrace. Nor do they sing there, or write, or argue, or see the tidal bore on the Amazon, or touch their children. And that’s what there is to do and get it while you can and good luck at it.”

– Joan Didion

“The only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn, like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes “Awww!”

-Jack Kerouac

“When you want something badly enough all the world conspires for you to achieve it”

– Paulo Coehlo

“Do What you Love, Fuck the rest”

-Dwayne, Little Miss Sunshine.

Leave a Reply

