Spring Ski update 2012

 

Ok..Ok So I put off writing a Season end post FOREVER.

It has been on my to do (or not to do) list for some time now… but like most years, spring comes and I get all wrapped up in celebrating winter, retro steeze and leathering the skin on my face by way of harsh glacial sunlight. My aching body tells me its time to put the skis away… but something stops me.. The “what if” of one more great day…
I’d do anything for a few more turns, sunny days, surprise pow, corn and  more time with my friends les montagnes.

retro day 2012

Due rain and warm temps early on, this year the battle was harder than most to keep the ski stoke alive. My skis sat at my back door long after I had made way to muddy trails on my bike. I was refusing to let winter go, but sadly May didn’t bring the long ski days in the alpine that I was anticipating. A few tours of dust on crust and milky skies and my dreams of corn snow and melt freeze stability remained mostly unfulfilled.

Until one friday evening in the middle of May.. my phone bleeps with  a text from my neighbor/ski buddy Christina Lusti : “Begbie Drop. Airport 7:30am” The forecast was calling for a glorious weekend, and before I knew it I was dropping in from the summit of Begbie under sunny skies for my last pow turns of the season. A morning bike ride, an exciting heli bump to the high col on a the mountain I gaze at out of my living room window on a daily basis, my first time to the summit, a few hidden powder turns and highfives from good friends.. (All in good time to get back to town for veggies at the market and an afternoon climb in the sun)That final day of skiing was oh-so-sweet and helped me put the sticks away with a satisfied grin on my face.

Its time for summer now, and a gigantic Thank You to all those around me for a fantastic season. It was a winter of abundance, snow, friendship, experience and opportunity–  There were so many extraordinary moments this winter that reminded me, how my passion for the mountains has guided me through my life. Skiing is the link between me and many of the beautiful people and places I have visited in this world and gives me the chance to explore, experience, and appreciate all that really matters in this world. All the positive mirrored by tragedy and the loss of friends, idols, and mentors we faced this year has pushed me embrace each moment and a meaningful existence.  Living what I love, spending time with my friends and staying true to my passions has guided me, and here I am living my dream! Thank you everyone, and thank you winter… See you next year!

bootpack to the summit

Joey & I top o’ begbieColvin, Joey, Lusti and Me - Spring Summit!

dropping in Mount Begbie, May 12th 2012