Revy Sneak Peek.

Town was buzzing and the stoke was on this  past weekend as the hill in Revelstoke opened a week earlier than expected…

Saturday morning I showed up  just over an hour before the lifts opened hoping to snag myself a spot close to the front  of the lift line. Little did I know some of the young freeriders I will be coaching in the coming weeks dragged thier parents out of bed lonnnng before dawn and had been standing in line since 5:00am!  Impressed with their efforts, and some other peoples ingenuity (one group brought a couch!) I took my spot at the back and watched as more and more people trickled in.

By the time we started loading at 8:30am, the line up was across the entire parking lot and almost out to the road. I have never seen anything quite like that in Revy.. I guess the secret is out that this is a special place.

On my way up I watched the skiers ahead of me shred down under the lift line and it became pretty apparent that this opening day was going to be a day to remember. Things were looking filled in and I was feeling ready to charge…  I could barely wait to jump off the chair at the top, knowing it was going to be a mad dash to our favorite runs as soon as our feet hit the ground..with high hopes that we would get to them before they were touched by anyone else. The turns seemed to flow perfectly and  timing couldn’t have been better as we led the way into a couple of lines in North Bowl, Three Bears, off the Sub Peak and under the Gondola…

What a perfect day.. fresh deep pow, a zillion turns and  lots of familiar faces… and let’s face it, opening weekend line ups aren’t THAT bad.. what better time to catch up with friends? (oh and.. sometimes the legs do need a little break.) 🙂


Zoya Lynch not afraid to go big on opening day.

Leave a Reply

